Things I miss…

I’m feeling my first real bout with homesickness*. While I miss my family and friends from back home , what I really miss is the ease of life in the states.

Here are some examples of things I am missing today:

1. A washing machine

Hand-washing each of Adam’s individual socks is getting old…fast.

2. Screened in windows

There are some WEIRD bugs showing up at our house. And don’t get me started on our mosquitoes.

3. Spinach

I miss the ease of pre-washed spinach in a box. It’s not easy eating healthy here when the snack at every event is soda and cookies.

4. The gym

I never thought I would say that, but it’s true. Again, it’s hard to be healthy here when surrounded by fried food and stifling heat.

5. My car

 

The bus ride to work is long, ’nuff said.

6. Target

It’s nice to be able to buy random things in an air conditioned store.

*homesickness feels 99% cured after venting in this post and eating a Twix bar.

Explore posts in the same categories: Marisa

3 Comments on “Things I miss…”

  1. kathrinejoy Says:

    I like this honest post šŸ™‚

    I would not have a good attitude about washing each of Austin’s smelly socks by hand..

  2. Alan & Beth Says:

    I just love reading your blog posts. This is a good way to recognize the homesickness–along with a twix. I also often missed these things. They are definitely amazing inventions that deserve to be appreciated. Now here are some things I miss:
    -Yolanda making lunch
    -lavandero (I’m serious, handwashing clothes in the sink and rinsing out diapers in the toilet sucks. . . my ideal world would include a washing machine and lavandero both :))
    -mangoes, mandarins, other seasonal fruits
    -not buying gas
    -fried cheese and tajadas (maybe this is just the pregnancy talking . . .)
    -going to a movie for $3 total
    -hiking volcanoes

  3. Elle Says:

    Shall I send you a box of Spinach? Wish I could! Sounds like a real different life. Not sure I would be willing to do what you do. You are on Rich and I’s mind/prayers a lot! Wish we could be there to cheer you up and toss a big salad for you. Maybe wash a few socks while we were at it!


Leave a Reply

