Giving Thanks

Marisa and I are celebrating our second Thanksgiving in Nicaragua. It’s hard to be away from family, especially during the holidays and we dearly miss our family traditions, the giant turkey, sweet potatoes, and other Thanksgiving favorites that just aren’t available here. However, we are grateful that God has blessed us with new friends and community to share this day with and revealed to us new things to be thankful for.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The following is a list of some things I have learned to be thankful for:

I am thankful for the men and women who stand up to give a pregnant woman  a seat on the bus.  You are teaching me to be more considerate.

I am thankful for the people who unconsciously help me cross busy streets everyday.  One person alone will never get across several lanes of busy traffic, but when a group of 6 o 7 starts across at the same time traffic stops for us.  You are teaching me about solidarity.

I am thankful for the people who say “excuse me” and “pardon”  to everyone when trying to make their way to the door on an impossibly crowded bus even though their uncomfortable actions are completely unavoidable.  You are teaching me to be more polite.

I am thankful for the young men in the market who, when I had pegged you as a theif, instead give money to the beggars you pass on your way.  You are teaching me about generosity.

I am thankful for our host family; even though we’ve moved into our own place Marisa and I are welcomed back into your house week after week.  You are teaching me about hospitality.

I am thankful for the sun; even though the hot rays have burnt my skin and made me sweat profusely every day for the last 15 months, after two days of nothing but rain I am already becoming depressed.

I am thankful for my church; even though the liturgy and even some of the beliefs are quite different it is a place where I can go to feel God’s love and the love of God’s people.

Explore posts in the same categories: Adam

6 Comments on “Giving Thanks”

  1. Kate Says:

    Love this. Happy Thanksgiving from Pennsylvania.

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    What a wonderful list, Adam. And a great example (for me) of how to transform homesicknesses into appreciation of another culture.

  3. Esther Mast Says:

    Thanks, Adam, for another thoughtful and challenging blog! Happy Thanksgiving to you and Marisa. ~Aunt Esther

  4. Dolores Myers Says:

    I see Esther’s traditions live on in Nicaragua. Isn’t that her bread on the table?! We miss you too. The Va Clymers didn’t even get together this Thanksgiving. Everyone went in different directions.

    Dolores

  5. Christa Says:

    And thank you for this post… just makes me miss Nicaragua all the more, but so glad I had the opportunity to go there!


  6. …And I am thankful for members of my team who remind me what I love about Nicaragua:) Thanks for being a part of that! Also, I love your blog:)


Leave a Reply

